Caliber’s 6-Day Bodybuilding & Powerlifting Spectacular – Day 28 – Pull Day B

PULLDAYBSPECTACULARGreetings, all.

Your boy has a busy day today, so we’re just gonna rock the workout today, but I do promise that  a ton of great stuff is coming. Or, at least pretty good. I can almost guarantee we’re talking good quality. OK, what I can promise is that it won’t kill you, and that’s a deal, baby.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 20g of Whey Isolate, 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 36oz of Gatorade mixed with a serving of Modern BCAA that has a profile of 8:1:1, and another shaker that contains 40g of Whey Isolate.

The first compound sets are done in the style of the 5/3/1 program, with the weight based on a percentage of my max lift. I usually rest 2-3 minutes when things get heavy. With the following compound hypertrophy based lifts, they’re on a 3 month schedule. During the first month they’re done at 50% of my max, and I rest at the absolute most 60 seconds. The second month is 60% of your training max, and the 3rd month is 70%, then you start all over with your higher maxes, of course. That much volume with such little rest gives you a great pump and wears you out pretty well. The following sets that are 3 sets of 8 I only rest 30 seconds for, and just look to burn things out.

Yates Rows – 160×5, 185×5, 210×13

You know, I may have to go a little heavier on the weight that I base these lifts off, because we’re suppose to get 5, and whatever else we can get, as we go balls to the wall, but 13, that’s pretty damn high.

Hammer Strength Reverse Grip Pull-Down – 145×10, 10, 10, 10, 10

These felt great. I’m digging this 50, 60, 70% increases by the month.

Wide Grip Cable Row – 110×10, 10, 10, 10, 10

I use the attachment you use when you want to do neutral grip pull-downs. These are great for just taking the time to sit and focus on working the back.

Kroc Row – 95×15, 5

Look these bad boys up if you don’t know what they are. Basically, it’s an all out set where you go real heavy with a dumbbell for one-arm rows, and hit real high reps, pushing the intensity. 2 weeks ago, I was only able to get 8 reps, at which point I’d take 10 seconds rest, and busted out 3 more. Last week I hit 11, and then 3 more. Today I was able to kill it with 15 reps, and then 5 more for each arm. It works the hell outta your upper back, lats, forearm, and grip. I love these, and feel like a beast after a set. Also, once you can no longer do a strict, clean rep, then start throwing some body english in there to really push things over the top.

Dumbbell Preacher Curl – 17.5×20, 15, 15

These are short, and simple, which often works best. With such high reps, and strict form, you get an awesome burn and pump. As always, the only rest an arm gets is when the other is working.

Behind The Head Backwards Medicine Ball Throw – 16lbs x5, 5, 5
SUPERSET WITH
Band Pull Apart – 8, 8, 8, 8

I’m really trying to implement athletic training into my program, as a way to ramp up my explosiveness and strength. So, today I did the medicine ball throws. I’d stand about 15 feet from a wall, turn my back to it, and throw the ball over my head behind me with all the force that I could. It not only wore out my back, but my legs too, I really dug this. After each set I’d then superset with some band-pull aparts, another favorite fo mine.

Incline Cardio – 15 minutes

Post-Workout: 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, and 30g of Whey Isolate.

Leave a Reply

