Caliber’s 6 Day Bodybuilding & Powerlifting Workout Routine Spectacular

LEGDAYBSPECGreetings, all.

As we all know, it’s Thursday, so I get lazy and just update with the workout. Dig it. However, come Saturday I unveil the Batman Workout, the workout that would be done if someone were to try and become The Dark Knight. I’ll also be doing the workout, and track my progress as usual, as well as give starting numbers for weight, measurements, and lifting numbers.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 20g of Whey Isolate, 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 36oz of Gatorade mixed with a serving of Modern BCAA that has a profile of 8:1:1, a 5g scoop of Glutamine and another shaker that contains 40g of Whey Isolate.

The first compound sets are done in the style of the 5/3/1 program, with the weight based on a percentage of my max lift. The first week it’s 65, 75, and 85% of your max, in sets of 5. However, on the final set you do as many as possible. The second week it’s 70, 80, and 90 all sets for 3, again, except for the final one. Finally, the 3rd week is 75, 85, 95, with the sets going 5, 3, 1. Then the 4th week is a deload week, with all sets at just 5 reps, and the percentage real low, such as 40, 50, and 60.  I usually rest 2-3 minutes when things get heavy.
With the following compound hypertrophy based lifts, they’re on a 3 month schedule. During the first month they’re done at 50% of my max, and I rest at the absolute most 60 seconds. The second month is 60% of your training max, and the 3rd month is 70%, then you start all over with your higher maxes, of course. That much volume with such little rest gives you a great pump and wears you out pretty well. The following sets that are 3 sets of 12-15, as I go for the pump. I only rest 30 seconds, and just look to burn things out.

Rack Pulls – 240×3, 270×3, 310×7

This 5/3/1 progression is really no joke. The 7 on that last set felt really good, and it didn’t feel like I was trying to pull a mach truck or something. I use lifting straps on the final set, but go without on the first two as to give my grip some training.

Squats – 135×10, 10, 10, 10, 10

Man, alive. After the Rack Pulls I could feel it in my legs, and then they weren’t too happy about having to do 50 reps in the squat rack. However, I really like doing it this way, and then flipping it around on Monday. All of this volume and such is helping me in every area, and once you’re done with these two things, your legs pretty much don’t anything else.

Step Ups – 10 for each leg

The bench I used was about 2 feet high or so, maybe a foot and a half, I don’t know. Anyway, I did 10 for each leg and just kept going until I hit all the reps. My legs were good and done after that.

Side-Bends – 25lb plate x25 on each side for 2 sets

These don’t just work your obliques, they work your lower back too. A great movement that I didn’t even really become aware of until a few months ago.

Ab Crunch Machine – 100×15, 15, 15

Sprints – 5 rounds

I’m trying to build up some speed, as well as work on my conditioning. I’ve always been fast, and despite being 269lbs, I’ve still got it, so I wanna keep it. The room I was in doing them though was freezing, so after 5 rounds I hit up the eliptical.

Eliptical – HIIT for 5 minutes

With all the huffing & puffing I do on the rack pulls & squats, I didn’t need to commit too much time to conditioning today. Plus I did some jump rope to warm up before the rack pulls.

Post-Workout: 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, 5g of Glutamine, 30g of Whey Isolate protein.

Leave a Reply

