The BATMAN Workout – Day 3 – Leg Day A – Plus, Part 3 of The BATMAN Workout Explained

BatmanWorkoutLegDayAGreetings, all.

Today we talk the food & supplements portion of the Batman workout.

Look, because it’s a comic book, Batman has to be cut. He’s gonna have very low bodyfat. However, since we’re doing this for realsies though, we’re not gonna be concerned with cutting right now. Batman would be all about strength & size for YEARS. He’d probably be on a “bulk” for at least 5 years. He wasn’t doing this for looks, so he’s not gonna sacrifice muscle just to be ultra lean. So, neither will we. You gotta eateateat. We’re bulking here, baby. We want all the muscle  & strength we can get. Again, I must stress, gotta eat, because not only are we working out 6 days a week, but we’re doing some high end conditioning here. We have to eat to make up for that.

For me, as you can see the first couple hours of the day I have protein & Gatorade, which is made with malto-dextrin, a healthier form of sugar that still spikes your insulin but isn’t as gnarly on you as flat out sugar or HFCS. About 90 minutes after a workout I have about 3&1/4 cups of blueberry pancakes. I don’t use butter or syrup. These suckers taste just like a blueberry muffin, and I love me some carbs. I tend to finish that off with a Muscle Milk shake. Then later on in the day we’re looking at scrambled egg pitas with a little bacon, more protein shakes, giant PB&J sandwiches with a real hearty, healthy, fiber packed bread, and natural peanut-butter and jelly. Apple sauce, more protein shakes, more PB&J, some Sun Chips, whatever else tickles my fancy, but those are the staples.

As for supplements, I keep it very basic. I go with what I know works, and just the staples. So, we’re talking protein, obviously. I often take Whey Isolate, but then once or twice a day I have a Muscle Milk shake because of all that it offers. I believe BCAAs are a must, and with a high leucine content, I don’t take in BCAAs that are anything less than 6:1:1, and that’s if I’m in a pinch. 8:1:1 is ideal, and I believe Modern BCAA is the best product out there.
Leucine is the key amino acid for protein synthesis, you can’t beat it. I have a scoop of my BCAAs with 24oz of Gatorade every day while I train, as that’s the optimal time. I take Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, as I believe it’s a superior form to Monohydrate. Obviously, it doesn’t really matter what form of Creatine you take, just take it. Creatine is awesome. I also rock Glutamine. There’s been a lot of speculation about it’s worth in muscle building, but I’ve done my share of research and believe it’s valuable. I take around 4-5 servings a day, to cover my bases. Plus, it’s $10 for 66 servings, that’s a pretty sweet deal.

If you want to take other things, feel free, but the ones I listed are the essentials.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 20g of Whey Isolate, 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 36oz of Gatorade mixed with a serving of Modern BCAA that has a profile of 8:1:1, a 5g scoop of Glutamine and another shaker that contains 40g of Whey Isolate.

Squats – 190×5, 215×3, 240×5

Getting there in the squats. I’d say I’m a few months from hitting my goal of 315. Bats would be all about the squats, because having drive and power in the legs would be essential for a lot of the things he does.

Deadlifts – 135×10, 10, 10, 10 10

Man, alive, you want some conditioning? Do high rep deadlifts, for quite a few sets. These things always kill me, but it’s a damn good kind of warn out. As my entire body is good to go, and I’m sucking wind pretty damn hard. I may have to switch to below-the-knee Rack Pulls for this, because with my stubby, T-Rex like arms, getting into the position isn’t easy, and I’m afraid I round my back.

Box Jump -3 sets of 5

About 2 feet high, jumping helps to build explosiveness in the legs, and it helps with conditioning too.

Side Bends – 45lbx20, 20
I never see people doing this, which sucks because they’re damn fine. I use to think they were useless, but the first time I gave it a shot my lower back was sore as all hell. As a crime fighter, you gotta have a strong as steel core all around to survive punches, weapons, and falls.

Ab Crunch Device – 4 sets of 10

No cardio today, because I felt like enough was done during the squats and deadlifts.

Post-Workout: 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, 5g of Glutamine, and 20 minutes later I have 30g of Whey Isolate.

Leave a Reply

