The 5/3/1 inspired BATMAN Workout – Day 9 – Leg Day A

BatmanWorkoutLegDayAPre-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 20g of Whey Isolate, 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 36oz of Gatorade mixed with a serving of Modern BCAA that has a profile of 8:1:1, a 5g scoop of Glutamine and another shaker that contains 40g of Whey Isolate.

Squat – 100×5, 125×5, 155×5

Deload week, so nothing major here. I don’t mind the deload now in terms of the strength lifts, as it helps me just get in the groove, practice form.

Rack Pulls [bar at mid shin level] – 135×10, 10, 10, 10, 10

I think doing the 50 reps of Deads is what has helped my overall number increase. However, because of my short ass arms, and my non-deadlift friendly frame, I had to switch to Rack Pulls, to give me a little extra bar height. Otherwise I was having to bend down too far, and after the first couple of reps my form would fall apart and round my back, so it wasn’t a good place to be in.

Plate Carry – 90lbs x 4 trips of 30 feet

I really like the Strongman style exercises, and I always want to do things to make me stronger all over In this case. I loaded Some 45lb plates on the Leg Press so they’d be about mid-torso level. Then I grab two of them stacked together and walk quickly over to a place about 30 feet away and set them down, before catching my breath and returning them. It felt great in my legs, arms, abs and lower back, definitely areas I’d like to keep getting stronger.

Bench Jump – 3 sets of 5

I really dig doing explosive stuff, and this is a nice exercise to add. Sooner or later I’m gonna add some plates to the bench, to force myself to go higher. I can actually leap pretty damn high for a guy who weighs 265lbs.

Crunch Machine – 4 sets of 10

Hyper Extensions – 3 sets of 10

Post-Workout: 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, 5g of Glutamine, 20 minutes later I have 30g of Whey Isolate.

Leave a Reply

