The 5/3/1 Inspired BATMAN Workout – Day 13 – Push Day A

BatmanWorkoutPushDayA
Pre-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 20g of Whey Isolate, 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 36oz of Gatorade mixed with a serving of Modern BCAA that has a profile of 8:1:1, a 5g scoop of Glutamine and another shaker that contains 40g of Whey Isolate.

Flat Bench – 180×5, 205×5, 240×7

Hit a rep PR with that 7 reps at 240lb. I actually think I may have been able to get 8, but I was very happy with 7 and didn’t want to risk injury. The 5/3/1 method of building strength really does work, and I’m pretty fucking excited to see where it takes me in a year.

Dips – bodyweight of 265lb x 7, 5, 6, 6, 7

Ah dips, beautiful, beautiful, dips. I rarely see people doing these, and that’s a damn shame. If there was only one exercise I could do for the upper body, it’d be dips. It works just about everything, gives you arms that look to be built out of concrete, and thickens up the chest as well as gives you a boost in strength.

Dumbbell Overhead Press – 32.5×15, 35×12, 37.5×10, 40×8, 45×6

An absolutely essential exercise if you’re looking for power and mass. Shockingly, not one I see people doing very often.

Machine Fly – 135×15, 150×10, 10
SUPERSET WITH
Triceps Rope Pulldown – 70×12, 50×12, 12

Man alive, Flies are about as great an exercise for muscle isolation as you can get. I make sure to keep my arms straight at the end of the movement, which activates as much of the pec as possible. For the pulldown, I stand back a bit to get more of a range of motion, and then pull in towards my lower-abs and flex the triceps.

Cable Shoulder Lateral Raise – 10×12, 12, 5×8, 8

My favorite move for the middle delts. The range of motion is fantastic with these bad-boys, and the cable aspect keeps constant tension. As mentioned before, the yoke is crucial to the Batman, so you’re gonna wanna build up nice, thick delts at all costs. Each shoulder rests while the other is working, then it’s back at it. After the 3rd set we dropped it down to five and just kept going. These also target the Traps like crazy.

Medicine Ball Throw – 3 sets of 5 with a 16lb ball

I don’t go too heavy here, because you’re being explosive, and that can cause injury. Some guys just do a straight double-over-head throw, but I’ve hurt my wrists, neck, and back doing it that way. So, I do a simple slam, and that works wonders. I can feel it all through my chest, arms, and back. This exercise is done to build explosiveness, which is crucial to crime-fighting. Being able to go from 0 to 60 is an absolute must, and when that 60 can crush a chest cavity, you’re golden, pony boy.

Cardio – Incline walking for 10 minutes

Post-Workout: 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, 5g of Glutamine, 20 minutes later I have 30g of Whey Isolate

Leave a Reply

