The 5/3/1 Inspired BATMAN Workout – Day 14 – Pull Day A

BANEPULLDAYPre-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 20g of Whey Isolate, 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 36oz of Gatorade mixed with a serving of Modern BCAA that has a profile of 8:1:1, a 5g scoop of Glutamine and another shaker that contains 40g of Whey Isolate.

Lat Pull Down – 150×5, 170×5, 190×12

Slowly but surely I’m getting there. It’ll probably be another couple of months before I’ll be able to do a strict pulldown with my bodyweight, or a pull-up, for that matter. This time around I was able to get 9 clean reps before I had to move over to Arnold-style reps, which is where I put some body English into it, making it possible to squeeze out some more reps.

Yates Rows – 135×15, 155×12, 185×10, 195×8, 205×6

Any type of a row is essential. Pulldowns help to create width, and rows create thickness, both are needed to get that proper look that people can see from the front or side. Love that pyramid style.

T-Bar Rows – 50×15, 75×12, 100×10, 125×8, 150×6

I use 25lb plates here, because you get a greater range of motion. Also, a lot of guys stand up when they do this, working their traps more than their back. So, I do my best to bend over properly. I love a standard T-Bar, because the whole body comes into play. My lats are actually becoming too wide to do this comfortably, as my arms keep rubbing up against them.

Power Clean – 115×3, 125×3, 3
SUPERSET WITH
Band Pull Apart – 8, 10, 10

Power Cleans are awesome. They build so many great things, such as your traps, upper back, legs, lower back, forearms, and of course, explosiveness.  This is a must in our quest to become the Dark Knight. If you’re in a tussle with someone and need to throw them off you, or over head, that’ll help you. The band pull-aparts work your rear delts and upperback, which if you build up will help to give you a very intimidating and powerful look.

Sled Pull – 100lbs for 1 round, 145lbs for 2 rounds- One round is pulling it about 30 feet, and then dragging it back to the start.

This is pretty self explanatory. You’re gonna be pulling yourself or others up via a rope, so this is the best way to train for it. Unless you got that cool rope climb machine at your gym. Plus, doing it this way, it’s a fantastic way to work the back, hands, forearms, hell, just about everything, plus your legs dig in. I used a stool to load dumbbells into, and I assume the sled was about 10lbs, but, I don’t count it, just the weight I pack in.

Cable Flex Curls – 20×10, 10, 10

Hammer Curls – 30×8, 8, 8

I was peppering in these bicep sets during rest periods of the Power Cleans and Sled Pull.

Cardio – 45 minute walk

Post-Workout: 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, 5g of Glutamine, 20 minutes later I have 30g of Whey Isolate.

Leave a Reply

