The 5/3/1 Inspired BATMAN Workout – Day 16 – Push Day B

BatmanWorkoutPushDayB

Pre-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 20g of Whey Isolate, 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 36oz of Gatorade mixed with a serving of Modern BCAA that has a profile of 8:1:1, and another shaker that contains 40g of Whey Isolate.

Over-Head Press – 120×5, 130×5, 150×7

That’s a new PR on the 150lb, I could have nabbed 8, but it would have required a little leg drive, and I’m a stickler.

Dips – at a bodyweight of 265lbs x7, 7, 7, 7, 7

One of the all time best exercises, what more can you say. You want thick arms? Thick chest? Thick shoulders? Then as an old dude with huge triceps once told my friend in order to get them himself “Dips, dips, and more dips”.

Incline Bench – 95×15, 105×12, 115×10, 125×8, 135×6

The dips had my chest pretty well tapped out, hence why I was so damn weak here. I also haven’t done much Incline work lately, so there’s that. However, keeping the upper part of the chest thick is crucial, so it’s back in, for good. I also rocked the pyramid, which I just fucking love.

Muscle Up & Walk – 85lbs for 4 rounds. .

I was reading a great article on shoulder development, and a tactic they talked about was the Muscle Up. It’s like a Clean & Press, except there’s no pause. You throw the barbell up and immediately whip your hands underneath and press it up. It’s all done in one quick motion. Then I walk about 20-25 feet or so, rest for 30 seconds to a minute, and do it again. This is a great way to finish off your shoulders. First, the explosiveness of the Muscle Up is extremely beneficiary, and the walking portion calls a ton of muscle into play, especially your abs & lower back. On top of that, your shoulders are in a tremendous static hold, and you really start to feel it after 2 rounds.

Machine Fly – 135×16, 150×8, 10
SUPERSET WITH
Machine Triceps Press Down – 85×15, 15, 15

Always good to include supersets. The machine I used here is the kid where you grab the handles, and then press downward. It takes some finese, but you can get a great squeeze in your triceps with this bad boy. As for the flies, always keep your arms straight at the top of the movement, as that activates as much of the pec as you can.

Behind The Neck Presses – 45×10, 10, 10

I’ve always avoided these, because of what you hear, but I figure there’s a lot you hear that ends up to not be true. So, I go light, and I keep strict form. I really dug’em, it gave me a feeling in my traps and shoulders like nothing I’ve done before. So I’m gonna keep’em around.

Post-Workout:1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, 20 minutes later I have 5g of Glutamine and 30g of Whey Isolate.

Leave a Reply

