The 5/3/1 Inspired BATMAN Workout – Day 18 – Push Day A

BatmanWorkoutPushDayA

Pre-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 20g of Whey Isolate, 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 36oz of Gatorade mixed with a serving of Modern BCAA that has a profile of 8:1:1, a 5g scoop of Glutamine and another shaker that contains 40g of Whey Isolate.

Flat Bench – 190×3, 225×3, 250×5

I wanted 6 reps on the 250lb, and honestly, if I wanted to, I could have counted. I got the bar level with the hooks, but just couldn’t get it over and had to set it on the hooks below. I think I could have had the last rep if I hadn’t been sick for so long. On Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday I didn’t eat as much as I normally do, or take in as much protein. I’m still happy though, because it’s about as close to 6 reps as you can get, and that’s still improvement.

Dips – bodyweight of 265lb x 6, 6, 6, 6, 6

If you aren’t strong enough to do dips, then go ahead and do a couple sets on a Dip machine, or the Asst Dip station. However, I’d like you to do a couple sets of negatives. I personally think this is the best way to build dip strength when you don’t have it. Set yourself up, lower until your triceps are parallel to the floor, hold for a second or two if you can, then reset.

Dumbbell Overhead Press – 32.5×15, 35×12, 37.5×10, 40×8, 45×6

A simple classic that is an absolute must. A lot of people do them sitting, which is all well and good, but I’ve always done them standing, and recommend you do the same. For one, when you start using the heavier weights, you start building muscle in your forearms, traps, and upper-back by having to clean the weight up into place. Then once you start pressing them, your entire body comes into place, especially when things get real heavy.

Machine Fly – 135×15, 150×12, 165×10
SUPERSET WITH
Laying Dumbbell Triceps Extension – 20×15, 15, 15

My strength on flies is finally coming back, so I feel like a respectable lifter again. I realized that I need to build stronger triceps, and that I hardly, if ever, use free-weights for them. So, I grabbed some dumbbells and got to it. Well, you could tell how damn weak they were already by the fact I was only rocking 20lb dumbbells. So, we’ll see what happens.

Cable Shoulder Lateral Raise – 10×10, 10, 5×10, 10

My favorite move for the middle delts. The range of motion is fantastic with these bad-boys, and the cable aspect keeps constant tension. Each shoulder rests while the other is working, then it’s back at it. After the 2nd set I dropped it down to five and just kept going. These also target the Traps like crazy.

Medicine Ball Throw – 3 sets of 5 with a 16lb ball

I don’t go too heavy here, because you’re being explosive, and that can cause injury. Some guys just do a straight double-over-head throw, but I’ve hurt my wrists, neck, and back doing it that way. So, I do a simple slam, and that works wonders. I can feel it all through my chest, arms, and back. This exercise is done to build explosiveness, which is crucial to crime-fighting.

Post-Workout: 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, 5g of Glutamine, 20 minutes later I have 30g of Whey Isolate.

Leave a Reply

