The 5/3/1 Inspired BATMAN Workout – Day 20 – Leg Day A

BatmanWorkoutLegDayAPre-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 20g of Whey Isolate, 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 36oz of Gatorade mixed with a serving of Modern BCAA that has a profile of 8:1:1, a 5g scoop of Glutamine and another shaker that contains 40g of Whey Isolate.

Squat – 185×3, 210×3, 240×6

I know I could have hit another rep on that last set, but something kind of hurt a bit on the left side of my back on the last rep and I didn’t want to push anything. This 531 style of getting stronger really does work, and I couldn’t be happier to have found it.

Sissy Squats – body weight of 265×12, 12, 12, 12, 12

These toast my quads better than any leg extension machine, and I highly advise you to look them up.

Plate Carries – 90lb for 3 round trips, 30 feet each way.

So, I set up at the plate-loaded leg press machine, because where you place the plates is about chest level. I chalk up, grab two 45s at the same time, then hussle 30 feet and place them on a another plate post. I then grab’em and head back. I love to do this sorta strongman stuff because I think it helps to build the entire body, and works for real world applications.

Bench Jump – 3 sets of 5

Nothing flashy here, just something to help build explosiveness.

Cable Pull – 40×12, 12, 12

This is something I recently discovered, and wanted to try it out today. What you do is set up a triceps rope at a cable station, and set it on the lowest setting, or second to lowest, depending on height. Now, you face away from it, and grab the rope from under your legs. Now, walk out a bit so there’s tension on the line. Bend over, but keep your back straight and tight, and stand up straight. Basically, as you bend over, your hands go with the triceps rope, and if the force was strong enough, it would make you do a front flip. This really worked my hams, glutes, and lowerback, pretty much like nothing I’ve ever felt before, and it was very comfortable. If my instructions were confusing, go ahead and youtube it. I plan on making a video for it here real soon, because it’s a great exercise.

Side-Bends – 45lb plate x20, 20

That was 20 reps for each side, twice. Love the side bends, and wish it hadn’t taken me so long to discover them.

Ab Wheel – 3 sets of 4

Yeah, pretty pathetic number there, but for one, that ab wheel is insanely tough. And second, if you go too hardcore on that thing, you could be sore for a week. It’s happened before, and I’d much prefer to never have to do it again.

Sitting Calf Extension – 100×20 superset with 200×5 for 3 rounds.

My calves use to be imbalanced, but once I started doing this superset, they really came around, and now they’re both an even 19 inches and some change.

Cardio: 15 minutes for incline walking

Post-Workout: 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, 5g of Glutamine, 20 minutes later I have 30g of Whey Isolate.
late.

Leave a Reply

