Caliber’s Super Soldier Serum Workout – Day 4 – Plus, New Update Photo

caliberfrontdoublebicepscompare20162

Greetings, all.

I took an update picture this morning, and then found one from 3 years ago. I’m a big fan of taking pictures often when you’re weight lifting, because being able to look back and see the difference is awesome and really motivating. Even if you are the most pale person of all time, and also has terribly lop-sided lats that make him self-conscious.

Another story the top photo tells is that when it comes to weight-lifting, that your biggest tool for advancing and making sure awesome Captain America gains is education and trying things out. Always read. But read trusted places that don’t have agendas like selling supplements and such. Don’t be afraid to try things out. I started working out in 2010, and I serious, as well. However, all I had was an apartment gym, because I thought that’s all I needed. I wasn’t doing squats, deadlifts, or using ANY free weights whatsoever, because I thought it didn’t matter. I wasn’t doing my research and learning. And because of all that, after 3 years, I looked like I did up there. Over-training is a phrase that’s thrown around way too much. People say you work out longer than an hour and you’re not gonna gain, or if you work out more than 4 days a week you’re over-training. Well, that’s all crap. At least for me it is. I always dug the guys from the 70s and 80s. They looked awesome, and were also strong as hell. Finally, after years of things just not going how I wanted, I started doing research and reading a ton. I learned I never built a proper foundation, and that having a program based on machines is crap. I thought ‘if I want to be like those guys, I should train like those guys’, and boom, it was like opening the Ark of the Covenant, but, you know, good stuff coming out.

If you do the Instagram deal, I’m over at @CaliberWinfield, and always post my daily workouts early in the morning before I post here. Plus, you know, the picture thing.

As for today’s workout, it went a little something like this…

Snatch Grip Rack Pulls – 185×3, 205×3, 3
I was doing some reading and discovered the Snatch Grip Deadlift. Because of the grip, it puts more stress on your traps, upper back, and hamstrings. I’ve been all about building my upper back & traps as of late, and my hamstrings could always use some help, so this was awesome. Once I got into the groove I was enjoying the hell out of it.

Bent Over Rows – 225×3, 235×3, 3
My strength is just about back to what it was at my peak a few months ago. These were fluid and smooth, slow and controlled. 10 more pounds and I’ll be back where I was. Love these.

Asst Pull-Ups – 60×5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 2 standard pull-ups.
I can officially say I’m stronger at pull-ups than I’ve ever been, and I’m over the fucking moon about it. After 4 sets, I decided to see if I could do a standard, crisp, clean pull-up, and I nailed it. I even got a second rep, though it may have been a bit ugly. Immediately afterward I did another set of 5 at 60lbs.

T-Bar Rows – 100×10, 10, 10, 10, 10
When you do these, I advise using 25lb plates so you get a better range of motion. Also, bend over, don’t do that thing where you just squat down and then start pulling, unless you just want to work your traps. I love these. Let your arms stretch out as far as they can before pulling back up, and squeezing at the top. Good times.

Hammer Curls – 50×5, 5, 5, 5, 5

Rear Delt Flies – 10×12, 12, 12, 12, 12
I was doing these bad boys with like 10 seconds of rest between sets, and that produced a fantastic pump and burn.

Leave a Reply

